Our History

The Middle Tennessee Utility District of Cannon, Cumberland, DeKalb, Putnam, Rhea, Rutherford, Smith, Warren, White, and Wilson Counties, Tennessee, was created in July of 1955 as a municipal corporation pursuant to the Utility District Act of 1937, to provide natural gas service to residents, businesses, and industries within its boundaries.

Scroll through the District History

Through the years, the District has grown to fulfill our mission.  We have installed, placed in service, and maintained more than 4,419 miles of natural gas distribution main line.  That represents an investment in utility plant of over 200 million dollars for Tennessee.  In October 2014, we merged with Upper Cumberland Utility District, and the combined entity officially became Middle Tennessee Natural Gas Utility District. 

The District contributes approximately 20 million dollars annually directly to the economy of its service area through salaries, wages, materials, equipment purchases, and payments to local contractors.  Individuals in various industries and institutional establishments depend on the District’s gas service for employment.

The MTNG Board of Commissioners establishes administrative policies of the District.

The District has area offices in Crossville, Dayton, McMinnville, Smithville, and Sparta, Tennessee.  Satellite offices are located in Gordonsville and Woodbury, Tennessee.  The District’s Administrative Center and Training Center are located in Smithville.

To ensure our customers are provided with safe, affordable, energy-efficient natural gas appliances while encouraging natural gas usage, Middle Tennessee Natural Gas offers a wide variety of the highest quality products.  MTNG offers superior service by selling, installing, and servicing grills, fireplace logs, outdoor lighting, space heaters, laundry appliances, ranges, tankless water heaters, and standard water heaters.

In September 2022, MTNG merged with Clay County Gas Utility District.  In 2023, MTNG  surpassed 70,000 customers.  Those customers are served in more than 134 communities located in 23 Tennessee counties.  The District covers a service area of approximately 5,283 square miles.  That means the District’s franchise area covers more ground than Rhode Island (1,045 sq. miles) and Delaware (1,954 sq. miles) COMBINED and is only slightly smaller than Connecticut (5,675 sq. miles).  We have over 133 safety-focused employees trained and ready to meet the natural gas needs of our customers.

MTNG Service area